Zayed Sustainability Prize

Zayed Sustainability Prize
(2008; Abu Dhabi, UAR;

Is a $3 million annual global award honoring the legacy of the founding father of the United Arab Emirates, the late Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan, who championed social, economic and environmental sustainability. The total prize fund is distributed among five categories each of which is allocated $ 600,000: health, food, energy, water, and global highschools. ZSP rewards “innovators and visionaries whose achievements have furthered the global proliferation of innovative, impactful and inspirational sustainability solutions.” To date, the Prize has been awarded to 86 winners across six continents who “have, directly and indirectly, positively impacted the lives of over 335 million people, around the world.” Winners are announced each January during Abu Dhabi Sustainability Week.


  • Find the Pioneer: ZSP searches for “pioneers who are playing a dynamic role in transforming communities and impacting lives through inspiring, innovative solutions” and encourages them to apply for the prize.
  • 20 by 2020: an initiative “overseeing the donation of innovative sustainability solutions and technologies to disadvantaged communities, in 20 countries, by the end of 2020.”

Leadership: Dr. Nawal Al-Hosany (Director)
Budget: $ 3m

Scroll Up
Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial