World Academy of Sciences, The

Logo de l'organisation

The World Academy of Sciences (1983; Trieste;

Formerly known as “The Third World Academy of Sciences” (2013), this science organization is dedicated to “the advancement of science in developing countries – works to support sustainable prosperity through research, education, policy and diplomacy.” TWAS was inaugurated during a ceremony attended by UN Secretary-General Javier Pérez de Cuéllar. It has 1,278 elected Fellows “representing more than 100 countries; 14 of them are Nobel laureates,  about 84% of which come from developing nations, and the rest are scientists and engineers from the developed world whose work has had a significant impact in the South”. They aim to “recognize, support and promote excellence in scientific research in the developing world”; “respond to the needs of young scientists in countries that are lagging in science and technology”; “promote South-South and South-North cooperation in science, technology and innovation” and “encourage scientific research and sharing of experiences in solving major problems facing developing countries”. They also offer opportunities to scientists through fellowships, research grants, scientific meetings, awards, visiting scientist programs and their Centres of Excellence.


Leadership: Abdus Salam (Founder); Bai Chunli (President)
Budget: 59m (2018)

Scroll Up
Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial