UN Economic Council for Europe

United Nations Economic Commission for Europe
(1947; Geneva, Switzerland; www.unece.org)

The United Nations Economic Commission for Europe is one of the United Nation’s five regional commissions. It was set up by the ECOSOC and includes 56 member States in Europe, North America and Asia. The organization’s major aim is to “promote pan-European economic integration.” To achieve this it “sets out norms, standards and conventions to facilitate international cooperation within and outside the region.” As a multilateral platform, it facilitates “greater economic integration and cooperation among its member countries and promotes sustainable development and economic prosperity through policy dialogue, negotiation of international legal instruments, development of regulations and norms,  exchange and application of best practices as well as economic and technical expertise, technical cooperation for countries with economies in transition.”


Leadership: Mona Juul (Head President)

Scroll Up
Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial