UN Department of Economic and Social Affairs


UN Department of Economic and Social Affairs
(1948; New York; www.un.org/desa)

As a part of the UN Secretariat, it strives to “bring the global community together to work towards common solutions to the world’s most pressing problems.” It promotes “inclusion, reducing inequalities and eradicating poverty.” UN DESA helps “countries translate their global commitments into national action in the economic, social and environmental spheres” by providing them with insightful databases and publications.

Areas of interest:


  • Publishes reports, infographics, working papers, and policy briefs.

Leadership: Liu Zhenmin (Under-Secretary-General)

Scroll Up
Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial