International Arctic Science Committee
(1990; Akureyri, Iceland; 24 strategic council representatives;

Broad interests in interdisciplinary research involving all countries engaged in Arctic research and in all areas of the Arctic.
Working groups support science-led international programs through planning and coordination, facilitating communication and access to facilities.


  • Atmosphere
  • Cryosphere
  • Marine
  • Social and Human
  • Terrestrial


  • 7  action groups, such as:
    • Indigenous involvement
    • Arctic Science and Business/Industry Cooperation
    • Bi-polar action group

Representative Current Publications:

Leadership:  Larry Hinzman (President)