EcoPeace Middle East (1994; Tel Aviv, Ramallah; ~40 staff;

A project oriented NGO that brings together Jordanian, Palestinian, and Israeli environmentalists. Their primary objective is the promotion of cooperative efforts to protect their shared environmental heritage. They “seek to advance both sustainable regional development and the creation of necessary conditions for lasting peace in” the region. They do so through both grassroots action and advocacy; approaching “cross border environment and peacebuilding issues by first developing a regional strategy and developing a common vision as to how we might be able to influence decision makers, the media and the general public.”


  • Water & Energy Nexus – To foster “a healthy interconnectedness and interdependence between the Levant countries.”
  • Lower Jordan River – Tackling the challenges in preserving the Jordan River in its unique natural & cultural wealth, that “is threatened by excessive water diversion & pollution, being treated like a backyard dumping ground”
  • Community Involvement – “A project based on sets of cross-border partnering communities sharing a common water source, promoting environmental awareness & peace building.”
  • Youth Education – “This project utilizes the transboundary water problems as a meeting platform to create positive interaction amongst youth of the region”
  • EcoPark – Has “developed 3 EcoParks; whether to preserve biodiversity, or as a tool for environmental education, they are important community projects”
  • Dead Sea – This unique salt-lake “is the lowest point on the surface of the planet, but is dropping by more than 1 meter every year! What can be done about it?”
  • Water & the Peace Process – “Since the start of the Oslo process in 1993, all attempts at the peace process have been predicated on an “all or nothing” approach. EcoPeace is working to change that paradigm”
  • Program on Water Security – Aims to share their “environmental peacebuilding methodology in other conflict regions around the world.”


Leadership: Gidon Bromberg (Co-President), Munqeth Mehyar (Co-President), Nada Majdalani (Co-President)