Arctic Council

Founding Year: 1996

Staff: 15


Arctic Council (1996, Tromso, Norway; 15 staff;

A high-level intergovernmental forum to provide a means for “promoting cooperation, coordination and interaction among the Arctic States, with the involvement of the Arctic Indigenous communities and other Arctic inhabitants on common Arctic issues; in particular, issues of sustainable development and environmental protection in the Arctic.” Includes 8 (charter) Member states*, 12 non-Arctic Observer States, 9 Intergovernmental and Inter-Parliamentary Organizations with observer status, and 11 Non-government organizations with observer status in the Arctic Council. In 1991, these member states established in accordance with the Arctic Environmental Protection Strategy a number of Working Groups aiming to facilitate the discussion about the severity of environmental challenges in the Arctic and how to formulate appropriate responses to them.
*Member states: Canada, the Kingdom of Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, the Russian Federation, Sweden and the United States.

Working Groups:



Leadership: Nina Buvang Vaaja (Director of the Secretariat)
Note: Pressure is increasing for the Arctic Council to address security issues re: national defense and homeland security, but no mention of Arctic methane. DH

Arctic Council contributes to the following Sustainable Development Goals

  Organization Type

  Geographic Foci


Related Content

Our world is in the midst of multiple crises, aggravated by the COVID-19 pandemic and the war in Ukraine.  This includes a crisis in education and learning, notably at K-12…

The 2030 Agenda partnership accelerator’s goal is to help effective synergies among various agencies and organizations supporting the Sustainable Development Goals. It is a collaboration between UN DESA, the Partnering…

An inter-agency mechanism for addressing youth-related issues bringing together various UN agencies and programs. It aims to improve the effectiveness of the UN’s work on these issues. Works to foster…